Awards & Fellows

Each year, we honor individuals making significant contributions to ASES as well as general contributions within the field of solar and renewable energy.

Our annual awards recognize renewable energy scientists and professionals for outstanding contributions at all career stages. Nominators and awards committees are asked to consider the diverse and international nature of our field. ASES always seeks nominations of members of underrepresented groups in topics relevant to society, such as the Women in Solar Energy and Yellot Student Scholarship Awards. ASES supports the principle that awards should include factors of justice, equity, diversity, and inclusion. ASES confers seven separate awards annually, and regularly names new Fellows.

Nominations are now open for 2023.  Nominate an Awardee through the pages below by March 17, 2023.

SOLAR 20/20 John and Barbara Yellott Award Winner, Anishkumar Soman (third from left) pictured with William Shafarman, Ujjwal Das, and Steven Hegedus. Photo courtesy of Anishkumar Soman.

Please follow the links below to get to the nomination information and forms for each award.


2021 and 2022 award winners are listed/pictured below.


Any member of ASES who has been a member for at least ten years and has served with distinction in the advancement of solar energy utilization by way of research, education, public service, and/or service to ASES is eligible for nomination to the grade of Fellow of ASES.

2022 Inductees:

Bruce Anderson
Barry L. Butler
Trudy Forsyth
Mario Monesario
Henry K. Vandermark

Charles Greeley Abbot Award

This award recognizes individuals who have made a significant contribution to ASES or to the field of solar energy. No geographical limitations are imposed and the winner need not be a member of the society.

2022 Winner: Ranga Pitchumani

2021 Winner: Jan Kleissl

Leadership in Solar Architecture and Design Award 

This award honors those in the passive field whose work has set the stage for others to follow. Honorees are those who developed the theories, research efforts, new concepts, and opportunities for later researchers to expand. Their foresight, innovative thinking, and creativity opened the doors for others. No geographical limitations are imposed, nor must nominees be members of the society.

2022 Winner: Orlo Stitt

2021 Winner: Alfredo Fernandez-Gonzalez


Rebecca Vories Award

This award recognizes special contributions to ASES. It honors those whose volunteer efforts have significantly advanced ASES’s ability to meet our mission.

2022 Winner: Drew Gillett

2021 Winner: John Burke

John and Barbara Yellott Award

The recipient of this award/scholarship must be a graduate student concentrating his or her program in the field of solar energy, and a current member of ASES. The student’s graduate program should emphasize solar and the application must include an explanation of the applicant’s future plans in the field.

2022 Winner: Aaron Wheeler

2021 Winners: Will Callahan (left) and Qiuhua Duan (right)


Women in Solar Energy Award

The Women in Solar Energy Award honors a woman who has contributed significantly to the acceptance and advancement of women in solar through advocacy, politics, education, social change, business, or technical achievement.

2022 Winner: JoAnn Armenta

2021 Winner: Fayeann Lawrence

Hoyt Clarke Hottel Award


The primary requirement for this award is that the recipient has made a significant contribution to technology in any area of the solar energy field. Hottel Award nominees may have been involved in the development of useful analytical models; the discovery, development, or improvement of energy conversion processes; or the widespread implementation of solar energy technology.

2022 Winner: Steven Johnston

No Inductee in 2021

Leadership in Solar Policy and Market Transformation Award

Nominees for this Award will have demonstrated extraordinary leadership and milestone innovations in solar policy and market transformation, rooted in the social sciences including Anthropology, Economics, Geography, History, Law, Politics, Psychology and Sociology or in related practices, such as, organizational management, market research or business-model innovation. 

2022 Winner: Amanda Bybee and the Clean Energy Cooperative Network

2021 Winner: Paul Fenn

Switch Language »