Claudia Hansen Wentworth Award

Join us May 21, 2024 at 5:30pm at the George Washington University for this year’s Awards and Fellows Ceremony and Reception. Purchase tickets today!

Background of Award

The Claudia Hansen Wentworth Award for Code Development, Innovation, and Training in Solar is a new award as of 2023. It recognizes one or two person(s) and/or group(s) per year who have shown excellence in one or more of the following areas:

1. Leadership in the development of building codes for PV and/or solar thermal.

2. Development of innovative products that facilitate meeting such codes.

3. Training and education in code compliance for PV and/or solar thermal.

Claudia Hansen Wentworth and ASES wish to acknowledge and award individuals, groups, and organizations that have “moved the needle” on building code development and implementation for solar applications.

Claudia Wentworth has led multiple companies, guiding vision and strategic direction in sustainable technologies. As a C-level exec and founder, she has provided financial direction, manufacturing knowledge, online training and startup expertise leading to financial stability and profitability in business. Claudia has served on numerous manufacturing and solar industry association boards and was active in the solar industry when she co-founded Quick Mount PV, an industry-changing rooftop solar-panel-mounting manufacturer. She had been in the green building and construction industries for more than 20 years prior. Claudia is co-inventor on multiple utility patents on solar mounting technologies. Claudia currently oversees commercial real estate and continues to work helping startups navigate their road to profitability and growth.

Claudia Wentworth currently holds a seat on the corporate Board of Directors of PV Complete and chairs the Association of Manufacturers Bay Area Board of Directors ( 


  • U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) Sunshot Tech to Market Portfolio Review 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018
  • DOE Sunshot Grand Challenge Peer Review Committee 2014
  • Intersolar North American Conference Committee, Advisory Board 2008,  2009,  2010,  2011,  2013,  2016,  2017
  • American Solar Energy Society Awards Committee for Solar Power 2014.
  • Northern California Solar Energy Association 2002-2008 Board President
  • American Solar Energy Society 2008-2009 Board of Directors
  • Solar 2008 National Conference Organizing Committee
  • American Solar Energy Society – Fellow

Nomination Information

Nominations could come from the following groups:

Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) Standards • National Electrical Manufacturers Association (NEMA) • National Electric Code (NEC) • Solar Rating and Certification Corporation (SRCC) • Underwriters Laboratories, Inc. (UL) • National Fire Protection Association (NFPA) • American National Standards Institute (ANSI) • Occupational Health and Safety Administration (OSHA) • American Society for Testing and Materials (ASTM) • National Electrical Contractors Association (NECA) • National Electrical Testing Association (NETA) • International Building Code (IBC) • International Code Council (ICC) • International Association of Plumbing and Mechanical Officials (IAPMO) • Solar Energy International (SEI) •  Solar Training Network from SETO • NREL • the myriad of colleges and universities and other institutions and schools that train both the trainers and the workforce  

Nominees need not be a member of ASES; however, the Awards Committee will give greater consideration to those who are ASES members or who have taken part in one or more ASES activities or programs in the past, such as Technical Divisions or annual ASES conferences. Nominators, please indicate any knowledge you have on this aspect of your nominee(s).

ASES requests that nominations include the submission of the nomination form and two letters of support for each nominee. The nomination form must be submitted by a current ASES member. Please access and submit the nomination form above; however, the letters of support should be emailed to, using the file naming protocol Wentworth_NomineeLastName_LetterWriterLastName. If possible, include the nominee’s CV or resume, or a link to it. Please, no self-nominations.

Questions? Email

Check back in August for 2025 Awards Nomination information.

Award Winners:

2023 Jeff Spies and Rebekah Hren

Switch Language »