ASES Fellows

To nominate a fellow, please send three letters of recommendation to by February 15, 2024. See the criteria below
2023 Fellows Inductees
Mike Sloan
David Ginley
Alfredo Fernández-González
2022 Fellows Inductees
Bruce Anderson
Barry L. Butler
Trudy Forsyth
Mario Monesario
Henry K. Vandermark
Lucas Dixon, Fellows Chair

ASES Fellows Criteria:

  • Any member of ASES who has been a member for at least ten years and has served with distinction in the advancement of solar energy utilization by way of research, education, public service, and/or ASES service, is eligible for nomination to the grade of Fellow of ASES.
  • An eligible member must be nominated by three members of ASES in good standing, at least one of whom is a Fellow. See the list below for current Fellows. Each of the nominators shall provide a letter of nomination containing concrete examples of the nominee’s work, activities, or accomplishments that give evidence of service with distinction. 
  • The Fellows Screening Committee will review each nomination. The Committee reserves the right to request additional information on a nominee or to reject a nominee if the Committee members feel that the submitted documentation is inadequate. The Committee also reserves the right to reject a nomination if it arrives past the deadline.
  • The Committee discourages the submission of papers written by nominees, though such papers may be referenced in the support letters along with a URL and/or a description of the positive results of these works.
  • The Committee shall recommend potential Fellows to the Board for final approval.

For more information, please contact the ASES Fellows Committee at


Donald W. Aitken*
Robert Aresty
Jim Augustyn
J. Douglas Balcomb
Everett Barber
Marion Barritt
William A. Beckman
David L. Block
Dr. Robert Boehm
Renate Boer
Karl W. Boer*
G.Z. “Charlie” Brown
Marlene Brown
Harvey Bryan
Jay Burch
Nancy Carlisle
Craig Christensen
Jill Cliburn
Gilbert Cohen
David Comis
Jeffrey Cook*
Polly Cooper
Jane Davidson
Francis DeWinter
Lucas Dixon
Christine T. Donovan
Jack A. Duffie*
John Dunlop
Anne Dunning*
Scotte Elliott
Helen English
Barbara Farhar
Wyldon Fishman
Robert Foster
Randy Gee
David Ginley
D. Yogi Goswami
Alfredo Fernández-González
Walter Grondzik
Christian Gueymard

Kenneth Haggard
Bruce Haglund
Denis A. Hayes
Elaine Hebert
Stephen Heckeroth
John R. Hickey
David Hill
Michael Holtz
Bion Howard*
Harold M. Hubbard*
Bruce D. Hunn
Gina Johnson
Stephen Kalland
Lawrence Kazmerski
David Kearney
Robert R. Keller
Edward C. Kern, Jr.
Sanford Klein
William H. Klein
Jan Kleissl
Richard Komp*
Ralph Knowles
Frank F. Kreith*
Charles Kutscher
Sarah Kurtz
Alison Kwok
Ronal Larson
Thomas Lawand
Norbert Lechner
George O. G. Lof*
Susan Luster
Alison Mason
Gabriela Martin
Joseph McCabe
Margot McDonald
Pamm McFadden
Paulette Middleton

Murray Milne
Frederick H. Morse
Michael H. Nicklas
Philip W. Niles
Paul C. Notari
Donald Osborn
David Panich
Richard Perez
Alicia Ravetto
Dave Renne
John S. Reynolds
Stephen Sargent*
Marc Eugene Schiler
Mike Sloan
Kenneth Sheinkopf
Larry Sherwood
Larry Shirley
Doug Shoemaker
Walter Shropshire, Jr.
William (Bill) Spratley
Thomas Starrs
Ronald Stewart
Orlo Stitt
Tom Stoffel
Steven Strong
Ron Swenson
Mark Thornbloom
Mary Tucker
Lorin Vant Hull
Frank Vignola
Gary Vliet
Cecile Warner
Jane Weissman
Claudia Wentworth
John Wiles
C. Byron Winn*
Roland Winston
Byard Wood


Switch Language »