Rebecca Vories Award

Background of Award

In 1993, the American Solar Energy Society established this award to recognize special contributions to the Society. The name of the award was changed in 1996 to honor the memory of Rebecca Vories, one of the Society’s most tireless and valuable volunteers.

Nomination Information

Nominate a 2023 Awardee

Criteria: The award honors those whose volunteer efforts on behalf of the society have significantly advanced ASES’ ability to meet its mission. The recipient must have:

  • Held a leadership position or was part of a team that helped ASES meet the goals of a particular program or operation, or helped create a new successful ASES program;
  • Served ASES consistently in one or more capacities for multiple years; and
  • Be an ASES member currently, as well as throughout the years of dedicated service.

Multiple nominations for a candidate are welcome. ASES requests that nominations include the submission of the nomination form and two letters of support for each nominee. The nomination form must be submitted by a current ASES member. Please access and submit the nomination form above; however, the letters of support should be emailed to If possible, include the nominee’s CV/resume or a short bio of the candidate, or a link to it. Please, no self-nominations.

Nominations for each candidate shall be submitted electronically on the Nominating Form above.


Previous Vories Award Winners

2022 Drew Gillett

2021 John Burke
2020 David Comis
2019 Doug Shoemaker
2018 William (Bill) Young
2017 Richard Komp
2016 Gail Burrington
2015 Wyldon Fishman
2014 Mr. Mario Monesterio
2013 Paulette Middleton
2010  Karlis Viceps, Solar Plans LLC, Taos, NM
2008  Glen Friedman, Evergreen Design, West Linn, OR
2007  Darryl Thayer, DT Wind and Solar
2005  Elaine Hebert, Northern California Solar Energy Association
2004  Dave Renne, National Renewable Energy Laboratory
2003  Susan Luster, Susisolar Clayworks, Cary, NC
2002  Kenneth Sheinkopf, Florida Solar Energy Center, Cocoa, FL
2001  Christine Hulet, Engineering Services, Blanchardville, WI
2000  Nancy Carlisle, National Renewable Energy Lab, Golden, CO
1999  Mary Tucker, Environmental Services, City of San Jose, CA
1998  Jane Weissman, Interstate Renewable Energy Council, Boston, MA
1997  Pamm McFadden, Elements Design Group, Boulder, CO
1996  Frank Vignola, University of Oregon, Eugene, OR
1995  Rebecca Vories, Infinite Energy, Denver, CO
1994  Michael Nicklas, Innovative Design, Raleigh, NC
1993  Stephen L. Sargent, Western Area Power Administration, Denver, CO

Questions? Contact

Switch Language »