John and Barbara Yellott Award

Join us May 21, 2024 at 5:30pm at the George Washington University for this year’s Awards and Fellows Ceremony and Reception. Purchase tickets today!

Background of Award

The John & Barbara Yellott Award is given to a graduate student concentrating on solar energy in a recognized institution of higher learning.

John I. Yellott was instrumental in guiding the activities of the predecessor organization of ASES – the Association for Applied Solar Energy – in its early years during the 1950s. He was a recognized researcher in the solar energy field, a user of solar energy in his own home, and an entrepreneur participating in the growth of the solar industry. He was associated with the Department of Architecture at Arizona State University where he taught solar energy subjects. He and his wife, Barbara Yellott, were long interested in students and made gifts to ASES for the purpose of recognizing and supporting a student working in the solar energy field.  The award includes a monetary stipend.

Nomination Information

A graduate student may be nominated by their major professor or advisor or another professional who is familiar with the student’s work.  The nominating form will ask for the following information:

  1. The nominee’s name and contact information. The nominee must be a graduate student enrolled in an advanced degree program.
  2. Membership status. The nominee must be a member of ASES at the time of nomination.
  3. A description of the nominee’s work in the solar energy field. This section should emphasize the nominee’s graduate and undergraduate work related to solar energy and the relevance of that work to advancing solar science and technology. This may also include relevant information on the nominee’s overall graduate and undergraduate academic studies and relevant employment experience.
  4. The name and contact information of the nominating person. The nominator must also be a current ASES member.

Letters of Support (REQUIRED)

The nomination should be backed by at least two letters of support for the nominee.  Support letters should emphasize the nominee’s academic achievements, particularly as they relate to the Award.  Support letters should also describe the nominee’s research work and how it helps to advance the field of solar energy.  Support letters may be sent directly to, using the file naming protocol Yellott_NomineeLastName_LetterWriterLastName. If possible, include the nominee’s CV or resume or a link to it. Please, no self-nominations.

Questions regarding the award and the nomination process may also be sent to  All support letters must be received by the nomination deadline.

Nominations for each candidate shall be submitted electronically on the nominating form.

Check back in August for 2025 Awards Nomination information.

John & Barbara Yellott Award Past Winners

2023 Simeng (Sampson) Hao
2022 Aaron Wheeler
2021 Will Callahan & Qiuhua Duan
2020 Mr. Anishkumar Soman
2019 Paulo Soares
2018 Hadis Moradi
2017 Francesca Moloney
2016 No award given
2015 David Curran
2014 Rachana Vidhi
2013 Lucas Witmer

Questions? Contact

Switch Language »