ASES offers three scholarships for students and young professionals in renewable energy.

  1. John and Barbara Yellott Award: An $500 scholarship is given to a graduate student concentrating on solar energy in a recognized institution of higher learning. John I. Yellott was instrumental in guiding the activities of the predecessor organization of ASES – the Association for Applied Solar Energy – in its early years during the 1950s. He was a recognized researcher in the solar energy field, a user of solar energy in his own home, and an entrepreneur participating in the growth of the solar industry. He was associated with the Department of Architecture at Arizona State University where he taught solar energy subjects. He and his wife, Barbara Yellott, were long interested in students and made gifts to ASES for the purpose of recognizing and supporting a student working in the solar energy field. Nominate a student.
  2. Justice Equity Diversity & Inclusion (JEDI) Scholarship for a complimentary registration to our annual conference. This was founded in 2021 on the goal of increasing opportunities for building a diverse and equitable community. Funding criteria include a commitment for the inclusion of clean energy professionals and students of all genders, races, ages, sexual orientations, disabilities, nationalities, political views, geographical locations, and cross-cutting disciplinary expertise. Check for availability.
  3. Don Aitken Memorial Scholarship was founded in 2022 to provide grants to students who wish to pursue a career in renewable energy and are ASES student members, with a preference for active student chapter members and/or ASES interns. Candidates may submit an application that demonstrates active involvement with ASES, and shows a strong interest in the renewable energy fields related to solar such as business, research, engineering, architecture,  journalism, legal, financial, real estate, policy, and sustainable living. Dr. Donald Aitken (1936 – 2022) twice served as President of the American Solar Energy Society, and was Vice President of the International Solar Energy Society. Dr. Aitken received many awards for his lifetime service in solar energy and for his building designs that emphasized the use of natural daylighting and passive solar. Find more info and support students in renewable energy. Please apply by February 15, 2023.
Switch Language »