Awards & Fellows

Each year, we honor individuals making significant contributions to ASES as well as general contributions within the field of solar and renewable energy.

Our annual awards recognize renewable energy scientists and professionals for outstanding contributions at all career stages. Nominators and awards committees are asked to consider the diverse and international nature of our field. ASES always seeks nominations of members of underrepresented groups in topics relevant to society, such as the Women in Solar Energy and Yellot Student Scholarship Awards. ASES supports the principle that awards should include factors of justice, equity, diversity, and inclusion. ASES confers seven separate awards annually, and regularly names new Fellows.

Attend the free live stream of the ASES Annual Awards Banquet on June 22, 2022 at 6:30pm MDT here

Nominations are closed for 2022. 

SOLAR 20/20 John and Barbara Yellott Award Winner, Anishkumar Soman (third from left) pictured with William Shafarman, Ujjwal Das, and Steven Hegedus. Photo courtesy of Anishkumar Soman.

Please follow the links below to get to the nomination information and forms for each award.


2021 award winners are listed/pictured below.


Any member of ASES who has been a member for at least ten years and has served with distinction in the advancement of solar energy utilization by way of research, education, public service, and/or service to ASES is eligible for nomination to the grade of Fellow of ASES. 2021 Inductees: Robert Foster, Orlo Stitt, Everett Barber, Tom Stoffel, David Hill and Lucas Dixon

Charles Greeley Abbot Award

This award recognizes individuals who have made a significant contribution to ASES or to the field of solar energy. No geographical limitations are imposed and the winner need not be a member of the society. 2021 Inductee:Jan Kleissl

Leadership in Solar Architecture and Design Award Award

This award honors those in the passive field whose work has set the stage for others to follow. Honorees are those who developed the theories, research efforts, new concepts, and opportunities for later researchers to expand. Their foresight, innovative thinking, and creativity opened the doors for others. No geographical limitations are imposed, nor must nominees be members of the society. 2021 Inductee:Alfredo Fernandez-Gonzalez

Rebecca Vories Award

This award recognizes special contributions to ASES. It honors those whose volunteer efforts have significantly advanced ASES’s ability to meet our mission. 2021 Inductee: John Burke


John and Barbara Yellott Award

The recipient of this award/scholarship must be a graduate student concentrating his or her program in the field of solar energy, and a current member of ASES. The student’s graduate program should emphasize solar and the application must include an explanation of the applicant’s future plans in the field. 2021 Inductees: Will Callahan (left) and Qiuhua Duan (right)


Women in Solar Energy Award

The Women in Solar Energy Award honors a woman who has contributed significantly to the acceptance and advancement of women in solar through advocacy, politics, education, social change, business, or technical achievement. 2021 Inductee: Fayeann Lawrence

Hoyt Clarke Hottel Award


The primary requirement for this award is that the recipient has made a significant contribution to technology in any area of the solar energy field. Hottel Award nominees may have been involved in the development of useful analytical models; the discovery, development, or improvement of energy conversion processes; or the widespread implementation of solar energy technology. 2021 Inductee: No Inductee in 2021

Leadership in Solar Policy and Market Transformation Award

Nominees for this Award will have demonstrated extraordinary leadership and milestone innovations in solar policy and market transformation, rooted in the social sciences including Anthropology, Economics, Geography, History, Law, Politics, Psychology and Sociology or in related practices, such as, organizational management, market research or business-model innovation. 2021 Inductee: Paul Fenn

Switch Language »
Copy link
Powered by Social Snap